Posted on

Pyongyang time

Featured image

So in North Korea, they have decided to turn back the time thirty minutes to create their own timezone, Pyongyang time.

It is very interesting when anyone tries to do something like this just to scream out “We are independent!” as if the world did not already know that.  An offset of thirty minutes puts the country out of sync with all surrounding countries as well as most countries in the world.  In a global era, I feel that we need to keep our times in sync as much as possible.  I would far rather it if the world as a whole adapted the GMT as the time.

Now if it is 7:50am where I live, it will be 9:20pm in North Korea.  But 8:50pm in South Korea.  I always look to the outside of things, and I understand the need to feel that your country is better than the rest or that your country is no longer oppressed; why would you want to further alienate yourself from the global economy?

Well, I suppose to the North Koreans –more specifically to leader Kim Jong Un– it makes perfect sense.  I am definitely curious how this effects businesses working in multiple areas over there.  They would need to change all computer programs to properly set the thirty minute stagger.

We will see how this plays out..

@theBasander

2 responses to “Pyongyang time

  1. Pingback: Pyongyang time | Brittius

  2. eoinjackbarry ⋅

    It’s only a matter of time before the North breaks down, check out my blog!

    Like

Leave a comment